Annual Night of Celebration

posted 7 Jan 2013, 08:09 by Unknown user
Club social and awards night.
Over 200 patrons attended the awards night in the Community centre on Saturday night. The evening started off with an address from our President Jim Curranand our outgoing chair Darren Ruane. The U12 hurlers and the U14 football teams were then presented with their county medals for 2012. The senior panel who won the Benson cup in dramatic fashion earlier in the year received their medals also.
Then it was over to the individual awards with a special merit award to Frank Mullen. Minor player of the year went to Keith Earlis, young player of the year was awarded to Martin Foody with Michael Langan winning the senior player of the year award for the second year in a row. The clubman of the year was presented to Darren Ruane. There was two Hall of Fame awards as 2011 recipient Paul Healy who was unable to attend last year received his award to great applause, a man who has given great service to the club on and off the field. This years award was then presented to Tommy Holmes, a very worthy winner, who was a manager when the club won county titles in the 80s and had the distinction of playing with his sons Kieran and Gerry in the late 80s. Chariman Mark Carr thanked all who had assisted the club in any way during the year and wished all success in 2013. newly re-elected county board Chairman Cyril Feehily presented the football awards whilst Nicky Rackard all-star Tomás Cawley presented the hurling awards. Local band Gorilla Radio then took to the stage followed by local dj Marky Mark.
Three lotto draws took place on the night with the regular weekly lotto followed by the yearly draw for the yearly ticket holders. The results of this will be printed next week and will be available on the club website.