U12 D Cup final: Castleconnor 8 v Geevagh 5

posted 21 Jun 2011, 05:00 by Bart Barrins
Markievicz park was the setting for the final on Monday evening. When the teams clashed earlier in the league at Corballa we were very lucky to win. David and Michael had a full panel to call on for nearly the first time this year in a resplendant Markievicz.
The first quarter was a ding dong affair and was scoreless for most of the time, but then Odhrán Quinn and Paul Flynn got two quick scores leaving us to lead 2 v 0 at the end of th first quarter. We got off to a better start in the 2nd quarter with some great foot passing from defence and midfield into our forwards and it was no surprise when we turned over at half time leading 0-4 v 0-1.
The thrid quarter was like the second and we got three good scores from Odhrán Quinn, Paul Flynn and Mícheal Cahill. Thomas Howley, James Boland Niall Judge and Kenneth Flynn were marshalling the Geevagh forwards and at the end of this quarter we lead 7 v 3.
Geevagh came back at the start of the thrid quarter as our lads started to defend the lead and heading into the final minutes it was 7 v 5 but a long range free from captain Odhrán Quinn helped ease the pressure, though Geevagh had a few disappointing efforts from frees in this time. The final whistle blew and we had retained the trophy that was won in 2010.
Captain Odhrán received the cup from Martin Seery and made a fine speech. Well done to the whole squad who all played their part on the evening. A special word of thanks to David Mahoney and Michael Cahill who did so much work al year with this squad which was very evident on the evening with their fine kick passing and tackling. Thanks to all the parents and supporters who gave lifts and vocal encouragement throughout the year
Panel, Back row: Danny O'Hora, Thomas Howley, Kenneth Flynn, James Boland, John Hallinan, Paul Flynn, Mícheal Cahill, Niall Judge.
Front: Brian Mahoney, Colm Naughton, Fergal Boland, Dáire Barrins, Odhrán Quinn, James Tully, Oisín Flynn