U16b Champ FINAL: Castleconnor 3-8 v Eastern Harps 3-5

posted 3 Oct 2013, 08:27 by Unknown user
The final was played in Tourlestrane on Saturday afternoon with the sun beaming down making it summer hot for the players. This was a hard earned victory with a 10 minute spell just before half time the crucial scoring time for our lads. 

For the first 15 minutes the exchanges were even with Lewis Beardshall strong in midfield and Jack O'Hora very dominant at full forward. At the midpoint of the half Paul Flynn came to midfield and this opened up more space for the forwards with Pauls accurate passing and Seán Carrabines running causing havoc. Micheál Cahill scored two goals coming up to half time with one a driver to the net after good work all the way from the full back line. The second was a case of never giving up and his handball skills as he palmed it over the keeper from practically the end line. A number of points from O'Hora, Carrabine and Flynn meant we lead 3-5 v 1-3.

The Harps lads put us under a huge amount of pressure at the start of the half but End Kilcullen and Cian Barrins caught and blocked many balls. Benny Foody and Stephen Durkan who both were under pressure at the start of the half came into it and had snuffed out their markers as the half went on. Kenneth Flynn still had to make two excellent saves during the half. We were more in counter attacking mode in this half with Luke Munnelly and Danny O'Hora winning the long ball  and holding it for the scorers to come through or James Boland going on a long lung busting run. 

We extended the lead to 6, 3 minutes into injury time and with the last attack Harps scored another goal but we held on deservedly to win. This was a real rollercoaster of a team who suffered some huge defeats but always came back for more and ended up wining  a playoff to get to the semi where they defeated their league final conquerors. 

Well done to management and team

Team: Kenneth Flynn, James Boland, Stephen Durkan, Enda Kilcullen, Benny Foody, Cian Barrins, Seán Carrabine, Lewis Beardshall, Luke Munnelly, Paul Flynn, Micheál Cahill, Jack O'Hora, Danny O'Hora. Subs : Elliot Beardshall, Kevin Howley, Odhran Quinn